College News


Clemson University

CLEMSON — Several local residents graduated from Clemson University in the May 2017 commencement ceremonies. Graduates were:

Little Mountain: Ashley M. Bonnette, Bachelor of Science in Chemistry; Henry Brett Collins Jr., Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering; and Matthew K. Lindler, Bachelor of Science in Sociology.

Newberry: Elizabeth E. Derrick, Bachelor of Arts in Language and International Trade; and Carli Elizabeth Ruff, Bachelor of Science in Marketing .

Pomaria: Rebeckah Samantha Hollowell, Master of Science in Plant and Environmental Sciences.

Prosperity: Adam D. Nichols of Prosperity, Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Mechanization and Business; Sydney Nicole Watts, Cum Laude, Bachelor of Science in Packaging Science; and Ben David Wilson, Bachelor of Science in Turfgrass.

Marist College

POUGHKEEPSIE, NY — Dominic Rossillo of Prosperity, S.C., received a Bachelor of Science degree in Software Development from Marist College the weekend of May 19, 2017.

Newberry College

NEWBERRY — A total of 293 students earned Dean’s List honors for the Spring 2017 semester, including several students from Newberry County. Students receiving recognition on the Dean’s List at Newberry College had to achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale during the semester.

Kinards: Karley Young and Christopher Howe

Little Mountain: Joshua Parker

Newberry: Brooks Allen, Brooke Ball, Luke Carraway, Bethany Cromer, Jessica Folk, Rachel Franklin, Andrea Get, Benjamin Havird, Thomas Lever, Kimberly O’Dell, Taylor Livingston, Aminee Point o, Austin Wicker

Pomaria: Emily Glymph, Madison Graham, Courtney Sanders and Alexis Tate

Prosperity: Baylee Bouknight, Taylor Caldwell, Andrew Chariker, Kyle Corey, Charles Hyman, Julie Kinard, Joseph Meade, Patrick Rowe, James Salter and Shelby Tolbert.

Whitmire: Marial de Lachica

Newberry College

NEWBERRY — Ally de Lachica of Whitmire received the Outstanding Biology Education Major Award at Newberry College’s Department of Sciences and Mathematics annual Awards Day ceremony held at the end of the academic school year


SUMTER — Justin Scott Hawkins of Prosperity received an Associate’s Degree from USC Sumter at the annual Commencement ceremony held May 3, 2017 in the Nettles Auditorium.


SUMTER — Justin Scott Hawkins of Prosperity was named to the Spring 2017 Dean’s List at USC-Sumter.


SPARTANBURG — Breanna Lindler of Whitmire was named to the Spring 2017 Chancellor’s List at the University of South Carolina Upstate.


SPARTANBURG — Emily Caudill of Prosperity, Shimia Hunter and Jazmine Smith of Whitmire, Rebecca Kinard of Newberry, and Laken Riddle of Little Mountain were named to the Spring 2017 Dean’s List at the University of South Carolina Upstate.

To be eligible for the Dean’s List, freshmen students must earn a 3.25 or higher and be enrolled in at least 12 course hours and upperclassmen must earn a 3.5 or higher and be enrolled in at least 12 course hours.

College & Campus News includes listings of academic achievements by residents of Newberry County. Items are accepted from a college or university only but can be provided to the newspaper by a parent or guardian if submitted on letterhead from the institution. Call 803-276-0625 or send an email to for more information.