Newberry Observer

Seven Wolves inducted into Hampshire Honor Society

IRVING, Texas — Seven Newberry players have been inducted into the Hampshire Honor Society by the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame, helping the organization to set an all-time record with 1,251 players from a record-tying 302 colleges from across all divisions of the NCAA and NAIA.

The Newberry players selected for induction are Sam Hall, Will Holbrook, Kinard Lisbon, Dakota Mozingo, Josh Parker, Josh Spigner and Christian Tejada.

The group was responsible for several major academic awards during their playing careers. Hall became the first Newberry student-athlete in any sport to be named a First Team Academic All-American during multiple seasons and earned the inaugural South Atlantic Conference Elite 18 award in 2017. Mozingo was named SAC Scholar-Athlete in December. Spigner joined Hall on the Academic All-District team this year.

To be eligible for induction, student-athletes must have completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2017, achieved a 3.2 cumulative GPA, and met all NCAA- or NAIA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.

The seven Wolves selected for the honor headlined a class of 13 SAC student-athletes that achieved induction, with four players from Wingate and two from Tusculum also honored. Newberry was tied for the sixth-most inductees in Division II and equaled the combined total from all other South Carolina colleges and universities, with four Coastal Carolina, two Wofford and one University of South Carolina student-athlete among the honorees.

Newberry College has the most inductees of any South Carolina college. College has the most inductees of any South Carolina college. Courtesy photo

Staff Report