Four Wolves named to NABC Honors Court

Staff Report

NEWBERRY – Four Newberry men’s basketball players were named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches’ Honor Court, the highest number of any school in the South Atlantic Conference.

2017 graduates Gerald Evans and Mason Spease, along with rising seniors Xavier Hill and James Stepp, received the honor from the NABC. In order to be eligible, student-athletes must be a junior or senior with at least a 3.2 cumulative GPA, have spent at least one year at their current institution, and play for a coach that is a member of the NABC.

Newberry had nearly half of the nine student-athletes from SAC member institutions recognized by the organization. Stefan Osborne, Donte Samuels, and Nathan Lemke of Coker, along with Wingate teammates Keith Griffin and Kerigan Farley, joined the Newberry quartet in the Honor Court.

The recognition continues a stellar summer for Newberry. Wolves men’s basketball players have already been recognized with a Team Excellence Award, the only team in the Southeast Region to earn the honor, for having above a 3.0 team GPA.

Staff Report