Last updated: January 30. 2014 9:08PM - 312 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

ROCK HILL — Queens has been voted by the SAC’s head coaches as the preseason favorite to win the conference’s inaugural women’s lacrosse title, it was announced on Wednesday.

Queens – which received five first-place votes in the poll – is one of seven SAC schools that will sponsor women’s lacrosse in 2014. The Royals went 10-10 overall in 2013, finishing third in the Conference Carolinas standings at 5-2.

Lenoir-Rhyne is second in the poll and earned the other two first-place votes. The Bears are followed by Catawba and Newberry in a tie for third, Wingate at No. 5, Coker at No. 6 and Brevard at No. 7.

The first women’s lacrosse preseason All-SAC Team in conference history was also released on Wednesday. Making up the First Team attackers are Queens’ Jena Ready, Lenoir-Rhyne’s Lauren Donovan, Newberry’s Kerri Ann Barlage and Catawba’s Meredith Jones.

Queens’ Brittany Barnwell and Arika Zimmerman, Lenoir-Rhyne’s Claire Wach and Catawba’s Emily Mills are the first-team midfielders, Queens’ Akasha Kasper and Bridgette Larranaga, Catawba’s Kelsey Perusse and Lenoir-Rhyne’s Rachel Hall are the first-team defenders, and Catawba’s Bethany Davis is the first-team goalkeeper.

Queens’ Maggie Masters and Coker’s Hayley Ferone and Mackenzie Baker make up the second-team attackers, while Newberry’s Carley Marksberry and Victoria Thomas, Lenoir-Rhyne’s Haley Beattie and Catawba’s Alyssa Corace are the second-team midfielders.

Rounding out the Second Team are Catawba’s Chelsea Sorensen, Queens’ Sydney Dishman, Newberry’s Tricia Powell and Lenoir-Rhyne Victoria Velton at defender, and Queens’ Danielle Horoschak at goalkeeper.

The inaugural SAC women’s lacrosse season will culminate April 17-19 at the 2014 Food Lion SAC Lacrosse Championship, hosted by Queens.

comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Newberry Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com