College News

The Citadel

CHARLESTON — Jacob Arnsmeyer of Chappells and Franklin Frick of Little Mountain were among the more than 800 new cadets and students that were welcomed to The Citadel’s Class of 2020. The Citadel’s Class of 2020 is the largest recorded freshman class in the history of the college.


SPARTANBURG — The following Newberry County residents enrolled at USC-Upstate for the fall semester:

Kinards: John Peebles of Kinards, Nora Taylor of Kinards

Little Mountain: Lyndsay Gilliam, Laken Riddle

Newberry: Mauresha Boyd, Jeffrey Conway, Breanna Davenport, Kyanna Douglas, Shatika Gallman, Alia Hunter, Kennedi Jeter, Rebecca Kinard

Pomaria: Kristen Gomez of Pomaria

Prosperity: Kindel Atkins, Emily Caudill, Heather Whiting

Silverstreet: Jessica Herring of Silverstreet

Whitmire: Rebecca Glymph, Shimia Hunter, Breanna Lindler, Jasmine Navarro, Brantley Pressley, Caroline Raines, Savannah Simon, Jazmine Smith, Max Stewert, Hunter Wagner

Piedmont Technical College

GREENWOOD — Piedmont Technical College recently released its President’s List, Dean’s List and Merit List for the 2016 summer term.

To be named to the President’s List, students must be full time and earn a term GPA of 4.00. To be named to the Dean’s List, students must be attending full-time and have earned term GPAs of 3.75 or higher. The Merit List recognizes students who are registered for 6-11 credit hours and have earned term GPAs of 3.75 or higher.

President’s List members included Briana M. Arnold,Kayla Rion, Barry Heffner, Grace M. Alger, Michael S. Hunter, Shawn S. Martin, Chris G. Shealy and James K. McDaniel.

Dean’s List members included Kimberly Bartley, Markevis J. Baxter and Blake A. Culbertson.

Merit List members included Christina Johns, Meghan E. Lake, Leslie L. Andrews, Kimberly A. Breaux, Johnnetta G. Harris, Alecia Jackson, Jose L. Lozano, Ariel I. Scott, Chelsea R. Smith, Princess K. Suber, Fred W. Tucker, Brigitte D. Wheeler, James L. Aiken, Shelby R. Billingsley, Keola C. Dorley, Stefanie Glenn, Tyler D. Grubbs, Stephanie A. Johnson, Gotardo Luviano, Timothy McCracken, Lisa M. SanFilippo, Aaron R. Stockman, Heather M. Whiting, Amber N. Worthy, Tammy D. Brown, Michael B. Crumpton, Anna E. Hall and Joseph L. Jones.

College & Campus News includes listings of academic achievements by residents of Newberry County. Items are accepted from a college or university only but can be provided to the newspaper by a parent or guardian if submitted on letterhead from the institution. Call 803-276-0625 or send an email to for more information.
comments powered by Disqus