Newberry teacher named Presidential Teaching Award finalist

Staff Report

Staff Report

COLUMBIA — A teacher from Little Mountain Elementary School is one of seven South Carolina teachers named as a finalist for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, the highest recognition in the nation for a mathematics or science teacher.

Tammy Renee Joiner and six other finalists were selected by a review panel of their peers who reviewed each candidate’s content knowledge, effectiveness, achievement results, and professional involvement.

The next step will be for a national committee of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators to review their applications.

The national panel will then recommend up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards – up to two state finalists – mathematics or science – from each state.

“Students must have access to high quality learning opportunities every day in order to meet the Profile of the 21st Century Graduate,” Molly Spearman, state superintendent of education, said in making the announcement. “Today’s world economy demands a high level of knowledge particularly in the areas of science, technology, and math.

“These teachers are providing their students with the high quality, rigorous instruction that will ensure their students are prepared for success after graduation,” she added. “I am so proud of what these seven teachers are accomplishing and I look forward to their leadership and insight being shared with their peers across our state.”

The S.C. Department of Education works to recruit and select nominees for the PAEMST program.

Each applicant must demonstrate a mastery of math or science (including computer science), appropriate use of instructional methods and strategies, lifelong learning, and leadership in education outside the classroom. Each candidate was also required to submit a 45-minute video lesson in support of their application.

Teachers who are selected as PAEMST awardees receive a $10,000 award, a Presidential certificate and a trip to Washington, D.C., for a series of recognition events, activities and ceremonies.

Joining Joiner as a South Carolina’s Math PAEMST finalist is Tammy Broomall of Little Anderson Mill Elementary,

Spartanburg County School District Six; Kimberly Rothberg of Carolina Forest Elementary, Horry County Schools; and Yvonne Strange of Chapin Intermediate School, School District Five of Lexington and Richland Counties.

South Carolina’s Science PAEMST finalists, including their schools and districts, are Sandra Bradshaw of Midway Elementary School of Science and Engineering, Anderson School District Five; Jeanne McKinney of Meadow Glen Elementary School, Lexington School District One; and Marsha Neal of Hardeeville-Ridgeland Middle School, Jasper County School District.

comments powered by Disqus