Nominees, fan vote announced for Newberry athletic awards

April 6, 2014

NEWBERRY — The Newberry College athletic department has announced the nominees for the Inaugural Newberry Athletic Awards, headlined by the nominees for Male and Female Athlete of the Year.

The Newberry Athletic Awards, scheduled for 7 p.m. April 22 at Wiles Chapel, will feature 16 awards, presented in eight male and eight female categories.

Comeback Player of the Year was nominated by the Newberry training staff, while other categories were nominated by head coaches of Newberry’s 19 teams.

The Billy Douglas Community Player of the Year will go to a male and female student-athlete who exemplifies excellence on the fields and courts of play, as well as in the Newberry community and beyond.

The Jimmy Villeponteaux Senior Award and the W.L. Laval Senior Award will be presented to a male and female senior student-athlete who best exemplifies the characteristics of integrity, honesty and sportsmanship in athletics, scholarship and in the community. The Jimmy Villeponteaux Senior Award and W.L. Laval Senior Award will serve as a reflection of the recipients four years at Newberry College.

Three-time All-American wrestler B.J. Young is the leader in nominees with three. Baseball’s Albert Baur is joined by men’s tennis’ Vinicius Botelho, basketball’s Brunes Charles and football player Corey Washington with two nominations each.

The women’s side features five student-athletes with two nominations in women’s basketball player Haylee Lepaio, women’s soccer’s Brayden Miller, women’s golfer Marianna Monaco, volleyball’s Samantha Parrish and field hockey player Caitlyn Warren.

A fan vote is included in Newcomer of the Year, Individual Performance of the Year, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year and Athlete of the Year awards. Individual Performance of the Year will highlight impact moments in a game, a season or career for Newberry student-athletes. Fan voting is open until 9 a.m. April 18. Fans can vote on Newberry College’s athletics website.

The 2014 award nominees include the following:

Male Newcomer of the Year

Football: Romelo Doctor

Wrestling: Trung Duong

Basketball: Gerald Evans

Golf: Richard Mansell

Baseball: Jake Nidiffer

Female Newcomer of the Year

Softball: Brittany Middleton

Golf: Marianna Monaco

Tennis: Vanessa Ortiz

Lacrosse: Katie Thompson

Field hockey: Caitlyn Warren

Male Individual Performance of the Year

Tenn: Vinicius Botelho for earning more than 100 victories in his collegiate career.

Wrestling: Jared Holliday for school record for pins in a season.

Soccer: Patrick Sweatt for holding Catawba scoreless through double overtime.

Football: Corey Washington for 267 all-purpose yards and three touchdowns in NCAA playoffs.

Wrestling: B.J. Young for eighth most wins in a season, on way to third All-American honor.

Female Individual Performance of the Year

Softball: Gabby Bedard for 12-game hitting streak.

Soccer: Rebecca Darley for three straight shutout victories in goal.

Basketball: Haylee Lepaio for 40 points and 14 rebounds against Queens.

Golf: Marianna Monaco for individual champion of the Patsy Rendleman Invite.

Field hockey: Caitlyn Warren for back-to-back Rookie of the Week (3 goals, 3 assists, 3 games).

Male Billy Douglas Community Player of the Year

Basketball: Brunes Charles

Golf: John Paul Ferguson

Baseball: Alex Kirby

Football: Jason Livingston

Soccer: Keegan Petersen

Female Billy Douglas Community Player of the Year

Volleyball: Wendy Davis

Cross country: Rebecca Eddy

Softball: Mallory Gerndt

Lacrosse: Carly Marksberry

Soccer: Brayden Miller

Male Comeback Player of the Year

Baseball: Albert Baur

Wrestling: Joe Grisko

Football: W.T. Murden

Football: Letavious Williams

Female Comeback Player of the Year

Cheer: Ashtin Bellamy

Soccer: Ashley Reetz

Volleyball: Lisa Ross

Volleyball: Elayni Stokes

Jimmy Villeponteaux Senior Award

Tennis: Vinicius Botelho

Basketball: Brunes Charles

Baseball: Chas Goodwin

Golf: Dixon Walker

Wrestling: B.J. Young

W.L. Laval Senior Award

Cheer: Miranda Mistoler

Volleyball: Samantha Parrish

Cross country: Hannah Rohrer

Softball: Casey Stevens

Tennis: Marina Ziehe

Male Athlete of the Year

Baseball: Albert Baur

Golf: Tommy Hurst

Basketball: Dondray Walker

Football: Corey Washington

Wrestling: B.J. Young

Female Athlete of the Year

Lacrosse: KerriAnn Barlage

Cheer: Caroline Elliott

Basketball: Haylee Lepaio

Soccer: Brayden Miller

Volleyball: Samantha Parrish